Skip to content

Award Winners 2020

Vittorio Ventafridda Memorial Lecture

Established in 2010, in honour of one of the EAPC’s founding members, Vittorio Ventafridda, a keynote speaker is selected by the Scientific Committee to deliver the Vittorio Ventafridda lecture at each biennial EAPC World Research Network Congress. Vittorio Ventafridda Memorial Lecture winners have extensive palliative care experience and are renowned for their internationally relevant research in the field of palliative care.

photo Stein Kassa

Professor Stein Kassa

From tumour centred to patient centred cancer care: a three decade journey

Head of Department of Oncology at Oslo University Hospital, Professor of Palliative Medicine at the Institute of Clinical Medicine, University of Oslo and Chair of the European Palliative Care Research Centre.

EAPC Cicely Saunders Award

The EAPC Cicely Saunders Award will be given to an individual who has made a broad contribution to palliative care, either in research, clinical practice or in organisation/policy that has made a difference to the practice of palliative care. The award is open to all members of the multidisciplinary team (reflecting Dame Cicely’s three healthcare professions).

photo Sheila Payne

Professor Sheila Payne

Multidisciplinary working in palliative care: challenges and achievements in the past decades

Sheila Payne holds an Emeritus Chair at the International Observatory on End of Life Care, Division of Health Research, Lancaster University.

EAPC Researcher Awards

The Researcher Awards (former Early Researcher Award) were created as an annual award by the EAPC in 2009. The awards are designed to recognise the work of scientists and clinicians in the field of palliative care who have recently made, or are currently making an outstanding contribution to research and clinical practice. The awards aim to highlight the individual’s career development and their potential.

Early Career Researcher Award

photo Lucas Morin

Lucas Morin, PhD

Critical issues in drug prescribing at the end of life

Lucas Morin, PhD, is an epidemiologist at the Clinical Investigation Unit of the University Hospital of Besançon, France.

photo Eva Schildmann

Dr Eva Schildmann

Sedation in Palliative Care: Practice and challenges

Eva Schildmann is a palliative care physician and researcher at the Department of Palliative Medicine of Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Hospital Munich, Germany.

Post-doctoral Award Winner

photo Melissa Bloomer

Melissa J Bloomer, PhD

Contextualising constraints to improve palliative care

Melissa Bloomer is an Associate Professor in the School of Nursing & Midwifery, Deakin University, Australia.

Palliative Medicine Paper of the Year

Initiated in 2012, Palliative Medicine’s Paper of the Year award is awarded to an outstanding paper published in the preceding year of the journal.

Palliative care provision in long-term care facilities differs across Europe: Results of a cross-sectional study in six European countries (PACE)

Journal of Palliative Medicine European Paper of the Year

Initiated in 2019, the Journal of Palliative Medicine’s European Paper of the Year award is awarded to an outstanding paper published in the preceding year of the journal.

The Association between Patient Characteristics and Opioid Treatment Response in Neuropathic and Nociceptive Pain due to Cancer